Massachusetts Cultivation License

On November 8, 2016, Massachusetts legalized the adult use cannabis industry.  Massachusetts marijuana laws allow residents can apply for a cultivation license to start a cannabis business. Such license also allows the entity to transfer cannabis to other licensed establishments, but not to consumers.

Massachusetts cannabis Cultivators are limited to three licenses that are tied to one location. Licensees may not have more than 100,000 square feet of canopy. This canopy may span across no more than three licenses.Cultivators must select their cultivation tier which determines the square footage of the canopy that can be cultivated and the associated licensing fee that must be paid.

The process of obtaining a cultivation license in Massachusetts can be daunting. Here is a breakdown of what you need to know.

This is a general overview of the licensing process for Marijuana Establishments (MEs) and Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers (MTCs) in Massachusetts.

massachusetts cultivation license

Applications for a Massachusetts cannabis cultivation license must be submitted to the Cannabis Control Commission (CCC). The CCC will review the application and make sure it is complete. If it is, the CCC will then send it to the local governing body for approval after a community outreach meeting.

The local governing body has 60 days to approve or deny the application. If approved, the CCC will issue the license. If denied, the applicant can appeal to the state marijuana Control Commission.

There are four tiers of cultivation licenses in Massachusetts:

1. Cultivation Tier 1 – up to 6,000 square feet of canopy

2. Cultivation Tier 2 – up to 10,000 square feet of canopy

3. Cultivation Tier 3 – up to 25,000 square feet of canopy

4. Cultivation Tier 4 – more than 25,000 square feet of canopy

Cultivation licenses are valid for two years and must be renewed.

The application fee for a Cultivation Tier 1 license is $1,500., for a Cultivation Tier 2 license is $3,000. Fee for a Cultivation Tier 3 license is $5,000. Fees for a Cultivation Tier 4 license is $10,000.

It is important to note that these fees are per license and not per cultivation site. So, if you have three Cultivation Tier 1 licenses, the fee would be $4,500.

If you are a Cultivation Tier 4 licensee and want to expand your canopy size, you must apply for a new Cultivation Tier 4 license.

Massachusetts cultivation license

The Massachusetts Cannabis Commission has received a large number of applications, and it may take some time before you receive your license.Be patient and stay up to date on the latest news from the CCC.

Craft Marijuana Cooperative

A craft cooperative is a specific type of cannabis cultivator; like the standard cultivators, they can grow, package, process cannabis for sale to other cannabis establishments but not to the general public. Coops are limited to a total canopy of 100,000 square feet and must abide by the same restrictions around locality and number of licenses as standard cultivators. There are no specific fees associated with becoming a craft cooperative, but they must meet the same application requirements as standard cultivators.

Marijuana Establishment: A marijuana establishment is any business that sell marijuana or marijuana products, either directly to consumers or to other establishments. This includes cultivation facilities, processors, and retailers.Cannabis businesses fall into one of three categories based on their size: small, medium or large.

Each category has its own set of regulations governing everything from licensing to advertising

Craft Marijuana Cooperatives A craft marijuana cooperative means that the cultivator is comprised of residents of the Commonwealth and is organized as an LLC, LLP, or a cooperative corporation under the Commonwealth laws.

Massachusetts cannabis cultivationWhat Does a Cultivation License Allow You to Do?

A cultivation license allows an entity to cultivate marijuana. Such license also allows the entity to transfer marijuana to other marijuana establishments, but not to consumers.

Cultivators are limited to three licenses that are tied to one location. Licensees may not have more than 100,000 square feet of canopy. This canopy may span across no more than three licenses. Cultivators must select their cultivation tier which determines the square footage of the canopy that can be cultivated and the associated licensing fees that must be paid.

If you are over 21 with no felony record involving prohibited substances, and are interested in starting a business in the cannabis industry, you have some options in Massachusetts. You can open a retail store, manufacture marijuana products, cultivate or grow marijuana, open an RMD, or run a marijuana lab with testing capabilities. Created in 2016, Massachusetts’ laws carefully regulate all types of cannabis companies.

The adult and medical license applications have essentially the same requirements.

In order to have a recreational marijuana businesses in Massachusetts, you need a Cultivation license from the Cannabis Commission. This license allows you to cultivate marijuana. You can also transfer cannabis to other establishments, but not to consumers.

These businesses securely transport cannabis between marijuana establishments. They can be third-party companies, or they can be licensed cannabis cultivators or retailers that wish to also obtain a transporter license. Delivery-Only: Delivery-only licensees can transport marijuana products from a marijuana retailer to the customer’s residential address.

Massachusetts cannabis license

Cannabis business license types Medical Treatment Center: These are vertically-integrated cannabis businesses, meaning they grow and sell cannabis products to medical patients only.

Taking Marijuana Across State Lines You cannot transport marijuana or marijuana products across state lines without business licenses and permits and a trained employee driver.

Registered Marijuana Dispensary

There is currently no deadline for application submissions, as the department will review applications on a rolling basis in the order received.

You must also abide by the local restrictions around locality and number of licenses. Cultivators are limited to three licenses that are tied to one location. Licensees may not have more than 100,000 square feet of canopy. This canopy may span across no more than three licenses. Cultivators must select their cultivation tier which determines the square footage of the canopy that can be cultivated and the associated licensing fees that must be paid.

Opening a Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center (dispensary) or becoming a cultivation facility producer (cultivation registration) was available to just 35 sites. One Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center per county with a maximum of 5 in any given county. Only 15 out of the allowed 35 licenses were awarded.

What products do I have to sell in order to run a marijuana dispensary?

This license allows you to cultivate, process and package marijuana. You can also transfer marijuana to other marijuana establishments, but not to consumers.

Taking Marijuana Across State Lines You cannot transport marijuana or marijuana products across state lines without business licenses and permits and a trained employee driver.

cultivation license

Registered Marijuana Dispensary (RMD). There is currently no deadline for application submissions, as the department will review applications on a rolling basis in the order received.

You must also abide by the local restrictions around locality and number of licenses. Cultivators are limited to three licenses that are tied to one location. Licensees may not have more than 100,000 square feet of canopy. This canopy may span across no more than three licenses. Cultivators must select their cultivation tier which determines the square footage of the canopy that can be cultivated and the associated licensing fee that must be paid.

Opening a Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center (dispensary) or becoming a cultivation facility producer (cultivation registration) was available to just 35 sites. One Massachusetts medical marijuana treatment center per county with a maximum of 5 in any given county. Only 15 out of the allowed 35 licenses were awarded.

In order to start selling marijuana products, you need a Cultivation license from the Cannabis Commission. This license allows you to cultivate, process and package marijuana. You can also transfer marijuana to other marijuana establishments, but not to consumers.

Recreational cannabis sales via Massachusetts dispensaries could reach $1.4 billion in 2021. People can grow up to six plants per person at home (maximum of 12 per household), either for medicinal or recreational use.

Taking Marijuana Across State Lines You cannot transport marijuana or marijuana products across state lines without business.

Dispensaries

A dispensary is a business that sells marijuana or marijuana products, either directly to consumers or to other establishments. This includes cultivation facilities, processors, and retailers. The Marijuana Control Board has divided the cannabis business into three categories:

1. Cultivation – the growing and harvesting of cannabis

2. Processing – the preparation of cannabis for use, including extraction and refinement

3. Retail – the sale of cannabis and cannabis products to consumers

As of September 2018, there are 172 registered marijuana dispensaries in Massachusetts. This number is expected to continue to grow as the industry matures.getting a cultivation license?

The Massachusetts Cannabis control Commission requires that all marijuana establishment agents and marijuana establishment owners, managers, and employees involved in the handling and sale of marijuana for adult use complete Responsible Vendor Training from a state-approved provider within 90 days of hire and once per year thereafter.

Application for Registration Cards for Employees

If you are working in the marijuana industry, you will need to apply for a registration card. This card will allow you to purchase and possess marijuana at work. The application is simple and can be found on the Cannabis Control Commission’s website. Be sure to submit it as soon as possible, as there is a limited number of cards and they tend to go quickly. In order to be issued a card, you must be at least 21 years old and have a valid Massachusetts identification card or driver’s license. You will also need to provide your social security number.

Once you receive your card, keep it safe and be sure to show it when purchasing marijuana or cannabis products from your employer. Remember that it is illegal to possess marijuana without a registration card, so be sure to carry it with you at all times.

If you are not working in the marijuana industry, but are a consumer, you will not need to apply for a registration card. However, it is still illegal to possess marijuana without a card. Penalties for doing so can include fines and jail time.

Do you want to learn more about a medical marijuana program?

Medical marijuana is legal in Massachusetts. There is a medical cannabis program in Massachusetts, and it is administered by the Department of Public Health (DPH). The program allows patients with qualifying conditions to receive medical cannabis from registered dispensaries. To be eligible for the program, a patient must have a qualifying condition and must register with the DPH.

The DPH website provides a list of qualifying conditions, as well as information on how to register and the types of medical cannabis available.

If you are a patient in the Massachusetts medical cannabis program and you are looking for a dispensary, the DPH website provides a list of registered dispensaries. You can also find information on the products offered by each dispensary.

Massachusets CultivationLooking to get into the Massachusetts cannabis industry?

Cultivation licenses are currently available, and the Cannabis Control Commission has made it easy for you to apply. Just be sure to complete Responsible Vendor Training from a state-approved provider and submit your application as soon as possible.

There is a limited number of cards issued each year, so don’t wait too long. And be sure to carry your card with you at all times, as it is illegal to possess marijuana without it.

For consumers, registration cards are not required, but it is still illegal to possess marijuana without one. Penalties for doing so can include fines and jail time. So be sure to familiarize yourself with the law and follow it to the letter.

With the booming cannabis company in Massachusetts, it’s important to know your rights and responsibilities.

tom

tom

Licensed to practice since 2008, Thomas Howard has represented numerous financial institutions in litigation to enforce their security interests.
tom

tom

Licensed to practice since 2008, Thomas Howard has represented numerous financial institutions in litigation to enforce their security interests.

Related Posts

Sign-up for exclusive content. Be the first to hear about Your State's news.
Subscribe
close-image

Consult With Business Attorney Thomas Howard

Discuss legal issues and changing laws and regulations, corporate formation, trademark protection, or issues related to the federal level of the marijuana laws. Talk with him now about your cannabis business issues.

Can we help?

See if you’re a good fit for the cannabis industry & we’ll help.

If you’re already operating a company – just call us. Our number is in the lower right corner – works even on desktop.