Georgia Medical Cannabis Production License
Georgia is accepting applications for medical cannabis production Licenses. After the state allowed the use of medical marijuana in 2015, the General Assembly finally passed a bill permitting marijuana production and sale in Georgia and now applications are open.
The Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission unanimously approved the process that will allow nearly 14,000 registered patients in Georgia to obtain oil for treatment in the state. If you are interested in joining the cannabis industry in the Peach State.
Applications are due on December, 28, and with such a short time frame you should move quickly to submit your application on time. Production licenses are expected to be issued by March 2021.
Types of Cannabis Licenses in Georgia
Georgia Medical Marijuana Class 1 Producer License
The Class 1 Production License authorizes a licensee to:
- Grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 100,000 square feet of cultivation space
- Manufacture low THC oil
The commission will issue two Class 1 production licenses.
Georgia Medical Marijuana Class 2 Producer License
Class 2 Production License authorizes a licensee to:
- Grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 50,000 square feet of cultivation space
- Manufacture low THC oil
The commission shall issue four Class 2 production licenses.
Number of Cannabis Production Licenses in Georgia
Georgia does establish a very limited number of licenses to be issued statewide. The state allows six licenses to be issued for the cultivation of medical marijuana, which can have no more than 5% THC.
The commission will award licenses to two 100,000-square-foot facilities and four 50,000-square foot facilities.
What Cannabis Products Can A Class 1 and Class 2 Medical Marijuana Licencee Produce?
Georgia laws allow a Class 1 and Class 2 Production License to produce low-THC oil. Georgia law does not allow Production Licensees to manufacture or produce cannatol, tinctures, topicals, rapid onset sublinguals, edibles, inhalable, etc. These products are prohibited for manufacture and sale in Georgia.
Cost of Medical Cannabis Production License in Georgia
- A Class 1 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $25,000, an initial license fee of $200,000 and license renewal fee of $100,000.
- A Class 2 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $5,000, an initial license fee of $100,000 and license renewal fee of $50,000.
Cannabis Production Licenses Application Process in Georgia
The application processes for both types of medical cannabis production license in Georgia are open to the general public.
Here are the Instruction to Apply for the Cannabis Production License in Georgia:
Class 1 Medical Cannabis Production LicenseA.-Application-Instructions-Class-1-Production-License-in-Georgia
Class 2 Medical Cannabis Production LicenseA.-Application-Instructions-Class-2-Production-License-in-Georgia
Those applying for a medical cannabis production license in Georgia must submit the following questionnaire answered with the application.
- Schedule A Ownership Profile – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule B Facility Information – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule C Financial Information – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule D Ownership Structure – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule E Employment Plan – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule F Local Government Support – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule G Production Plan – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule H Seed to Sale Tracking Plan – Class 1 Production License
- Schedule I Business Operations and Security Plan – Class 1 Production License
Applicants will have to provide security at its facility, establish electronic video monitoring and use keycards that log employee and visitor access. Also, a “seed-to-sale” tracking to account for the product’s whereabouts throughout production is required. Law enforcement will be allowed to inspect the facility on demand.
Can Applications Be Submitted For Both Class 1 And Class 2 Production License?
Georgia law does not prohibit submitting a proposal for both Class 1 and Class 2 Production Licenses. However, if a proposal is selected for a license award in one class, but ownership interests in another class are prohibited.
“No person or entity holding an ownership interest in a license issued under this code section may hold an ownership interest in any other type of license issued under this part.”
“Ownership interests in more than one license shall be cause for revocation of all licenses.”
Does A Production License Include A Dispensing License?
A production license in Georgia does not include a dispensing license. The Commission has not yet established the requirements for Dispensing License nor rules to regulate medical cannabis dispensaries.
The dispensary license application process will begin in 2021 after the 2020 Class 1 and Class 2 Production License application cycle.
Don’t miss out on our Marijuana Legalization Map where you can browse the current status of laws in every state in the United States and see all our posts on each of them.
Interested in coming on as a guest? Email our producer at email@example.com.