Latest Cannabis News
309-306-1095 [email protected]

Cannabis Laws in Minnesota

Minnesota Cannabis Legalization (HF 4632)

Minnesota home grow cannabisA bill to legalize cannabis is working its way through Minnesota’s legislature. If HF 4632 passes and becomes law in Minnesota, it will be the 12th state to legalize cannabis for adult use.  The new Minnesota cannabis law does a very good job of allowing various types of personal use, including home grow.  Here we go over the proposed cannabis law so that you can be ready when Minnesota legalizes it.  Enjoy and contact us with questions about getting your cannabis business licensed in Minnesota.

Cannabis Legalization in Minnesota

Not just anyone can use cannabis in Minnesota if HF 4632 becomes law.  In order to use cannabis there are requirements, which are very similar to other states.   A person 21 years of age or older may:

  1.  use, possess, or transport cannabis paraphernalia;
  2. possess or transport 1.5 ounces or less of adult-use cannabis in a public place;
  3. possess ten pounds or less of adult-use cannabis in the person’s private residence;
  4.  possess or transport eight grams or less of adult-use cannabis concentrate;
  5.  possess or transport an edible cannabis product infused with 800 milligrams or less of tetrahydrocannabinol;
  6. give for no remuneration 1.5 ounces or less of adult-use cannabis, eight grams or less of adult-use cannabis concentrate, or an edible cannabis product infused with 800 milligrams or less of tetrahydrocannabinol to a person who is at least 21 years of age; and
  7. use adult-use cannabis and adult-use cannabis products in the following locations:
    1.  a private residence, including the person’s curtilage or yard;
    2.  on private property, not generally accessible by the public, when the person is explicitly permitted to consume cannabis or cannabis products on the property by the owner of the property; or
    3. on the premises of an establishment or event licensed to permit on-site consumption.

 Minnesota has larger possession limits than other states – 1.5 ounces of possession in public, 10 pounds at home – you can gift 1.5 ounces & even allows for onsite consumption!

Restrictions against adult use of Cannabis in Minnesota

Of course, not everything under the sun is permitted by Minnesota’s new cannabis law – in fact many of the same restrictions that other states impose on cannabis use are found under Section 8 of the new Adult use cannabis law in Minnesota’s legislature.  A person is still prohibited from:

  •  use, possess, or transport cannabis or cannabis products if the person is under the age of 21; 
  • use cannabis or cannabis products in a motor vehicle as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 15;
  • use cannabis or cannabis products at any location where smoking is prohibited under section 144.414;
  • use or possess cannabis or cannabis products in a public school, as defined in section 120A.05, subdivisions 9, 11, and 13, or in a charter school governed by chapter 124E, including all facilities, whether owned, rented, or leased, and all vehicles that a school district owns, leases, rents, contracts for, or controls;
  • use or possess cannabis or cannabis products in a state correctional facility;
  • operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis or cannabis products;
  • give for no remuneration cannabis or cannabis products to a person under 21 years of age; or
  • give for no remuneration cannabis or cannabis products as a sample or promotional gift if the giver is in the business of selling goods or services.

Exceptions for Minnesota Medical Cannabis Laws

The prohibitions under paragraph (b), clauses (1) to (4), do not apply to authorized use, possession, or transportation of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products by a patient; registered designated caregiver; or a parent, legal guardian, or spouse of a patient. (d) A proprietor of a family or group family day care program must disclose to parents or guardians of children cared for on the premises of the family or group family day care program, if the proprietor permits the smoking or use of cannabis or cannabis products on the premises outside of its hours of operation. Disclosure must include posting on the premises a conspicuous written notice and orally informing parents or guardians. Subd. 2.

What Types of Cannabis Licenses Will Minnesota Have under HF 4632

Subd. 28. License holder. “License holder” means a person, cooperative, or business that holds any of the following licenses: 

  1. cannabis cultivator; 
  2. cannabis manufacturer; 
  3. cannabis retailer; 
  4. cannabis wholesaler; 
  5. cannabis transporter; 
  6. cannabis testing facility; 
  7. cannabis microbusiness; 
  8. cannabis event organizer; 
  9. cannabis delivery service; or 
  10. medical cannabis business.

Minnesota Adult Use Cannabis Law Text in PDF

HF4632.0

Want a Minnesota Cannabis License

Adult Cannabis Use Laws in Minnesota

Home cultivation (grow) of cannabis for personal adult use in Minnesota.

Up to eight cannabis plants, with four or fewer being mature, flowering plants may be grown at a single residence, including the curtilage or Minnesota Personal Use Homegrow Cannabisyard, without a license to cultivate cannabis issued under this chapter provided that it takes place at the primary residence of a person 21 years of age or older and in an enclosed, locked space that is not open to public view. Subd. 3.

Home extraction of cannabis concentrate by use of volatile solvent prohibited. No person may use a volatile solvent to separate or extract cannabis concentrate without a cannabis manufacturer or cannabis microbusiness license issued under this chapter. Subd. 4. Sale of cannabis and cannabis products prohibited.

No person may sell cannabis or cannabis products without a cannabis retailer or cannabis microbusiness license issued under this chapter. Subd. 5.

Violations for breaking adult use and home grow cannabis laws in Minnesota

(a) In addition to penalties listed in this subdivision, a person who violates the provisions of this chapter is subject to any applicable criminal penalty. (b) The board may assess the following civil penalties on a person who sells cannabis or cannabis products without a license authorizing the sale of cannabis or cannabis products issued under this chapter:

  1. if the person sells more than 1.5 ounces but not more than eight ounces of cannabis, up to $1,000;
  2. if the person sells more than eight ounces but not more than one pound of cannabis, up to $5,000;
  3. if the person sells more than one pound but not more than five pounds of cannabis, up to $25,000;
  4. if the person sells more than five pounds but not more than 25 pounds of cannabis, up to $100,000;
  5. if the person sells more than 25 pounds but not more than 50 pounds of cannabis, up to $250,000; and
  6. if the person sells more than 50 pounds of cannabis, up to $1,000,000.

Penalties for breaking personal adult use and home grow cannabis laws in Minnesota

The board may assess the following civil penalties on a person who sells cannabis concentrate without a license authorizing the sale of cannabis products issued under this chapter:

  • if the person sells more than eight grams but not more than 40 grams of cannabis concentrate, up to $1,000;
  • if the person sells more than 40 grams but not more than 80 grams of cannabis concentrate, up to $5,000;
  • if the person sells more than 80 grams but not more than 400 grams of cannabis concentrate, up to $25,000;
  • if the person sells more than 400 grams but not more than two kilograms of cannabis concentrate, up to $100,000;
  • if the person sells more than two kilograms but not more than four kilograms of cannabis concentrate, up to $250,000; and
  • if the person sells more than four kilograms of cannabis concentrate, up to $1,000,000.

penalties on a person who sells products infused with tetrahydrocannabinol without a license authorizing the sale of cannabis products issued under this chapter:

  • if the person sells products infused with more than 800 milligrams but not more than four grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $1,000;
  • if the person sells products infused with more than four grams but not more than eight grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $5,000;
  • if the person sells products infused with more than eight grams but not more than 40 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $25,000;
  • if the person sells products infused with more than 40 grams but not more than 200 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $100,000;
  • if the person sells products infused with more than 200 grams but not more than 400 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $250,000; and
  • if the person sells products infused with more than 400 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol, up to $1,000,000.

Penalties for violating home grow laws in Minnesota

The board may assess a civil penalty of up to $500 for each plant grown in excess of the limit on a person who grows more than eight cannabis plants, or more than four mature, flowering plants, without a license to cultivate cannabis issued under this chapter.

Thomas Howard

Thomas Howard

Cannabis Lawyer

Thomas Howard has been in business for years and can help yours navigate towards more profitable waters.

Thomas Howard was on the ball and got things done. Easy to work with, communicates very well, and I would recommend him anytime.

R. Martindale

Cannabis Industry Lawyer is a Stumari designed website for Tom Howard’s consulting business and law practice at the law firm the Collateral Base.
Kentucky Ban of Delta-8 THC

Kentucky Ban of Delta-8 THC

Kentucky Delta-8 THC Hemp Ban Delta-8 THC is illegal according to Kentucky's interpretation of federal law - at least according to the general counsel of the Department of Agriculture - who really has no authority to make conclusions of federal law. Delta-8 THC has...

How to open a dispensary in New Jersey

How to open a dispensary in New Jersey

How to get a dispensary license in New Jersey? That's the question you should ask yourself if you're thinking about opening a dispensary in New Jersey. In order to obtain a dispensary license, you’d need to comply with requirements established by the new law on the...

Need A Cannabis Attorney?

Our cannabis business attorneys are also business owners.  They can help you structure your business or help protect it from overly burdensome regulations.

[contact-form-7 id=”222210″ title=”common-footer-form”]


316 SW Washington Street, Suite 1A
Peoria, Illinois 61602

Phone: (309) 740-4033 || Email:  [email protected]


150 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 2400,
Chicago IL, 60606 USA

Phone: 312-741-1009 || Email:  [email protected]


316 SW Washington Street, Suite 1A
Peoria, Illinois 61602

Phone: (309) 740-4033 || Email:  [email protected]


150 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 2400,
Chicago IL, 60606 USA

Phone: 312-741-1009 || Email:  [email protected]

Cannabis Industry News

Cannabis Industry News

Subscribe and get the latest on the cannabis industry.  Includes exclusive content only shared with subscribers.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This