Personal Use of Cannabis in Illinois
Want to Get Into the Legal Cannabis Industry?
What does the new law say about personal use of cannabis in Illinois?
A new law legalizing the use of recreational marijuana is was passed in Illinois on May 31, 2019. The state beaome the 11th in the country to allow the use of recreational marijuana, but the first state to legalize cannabis by legislative process.
According to this new cannabis law, “the General Assembly finds and declares that the use of cannabis should be legal for persons 21 years of age or older.”
Who is allowed to Sell Marijuana?
In the beginning, only licensed dispensaries will be allowed to sell medical marijuana when the bill becomes law in January 2020. More licenses will be granted to other stores by the middle of the year.
Already, there are a good number of dispensaries in different parts of the state. By the start of 2020, it is predicted that close to 300 stores will be selling marijuana.
However, it will still be up to the municipal and county government to decide whether marijuana sellers can operate in their areas of juridistinction.
Where to Smoke Marijuana?
According to the new law, cannabis smoking will be allowed at home and within the marijuana sellers’ premises. However, smoking will be prohibited in the following areas:
- Public areas, such as streets and parks
- In motor vehicles whether personal or otherwise
- Near police offices, or close to school bus drivers who are still on duty
- Within a school setting. However, exemptions are made for the case of medical marijuana
- Close to anyone who is under the age of 21
While smoking marijuana at the confines of your home is allowed, property owners have a right to prohibit the same within their premises. Colleges and universities will also be allowed to prohibit weed smoking within the institutions.
Amount of Weed One Can Possess
According to the law, residents of Illinois will be allowed to possess 30 grams of cannabis flower, 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, and 500 milligrams of cannabis infused products. Cannabis infused products include tinctures and edibles.
A sales tax will be applied for all marijuana products. For instance, products whose THC is less than 35% will have a sales tax of 10%. Edibles and any cannabis infused products will be taxed at 20%. Products with a THC concentration of over 35% will have a sales tax of approximately 25%.
Aside from the sales tax, a 7% gross tax will be imposed on marijuana sold by growers to dispensaries. It is highly likely that, at the end of the day, this cost will be passed to the consumer.
Where Will the Marijuana for Sale Come From?
Currently, there are 20 marijuana cultivation facilities in Illinois. At the beginning of January 2020, these will be the only facilities that will be allowed to grow marijuana. Within the year, craft growers interested in growing marijuana will be allowed to submit their license applications. Licenses will be given to facilities that can grow up to 5000 square feet of weed.
Can One Grow Marijuana?
Marijuana cultivation will be legal for those who take marijuana for medical purposes. These patients will be permitted to grow 5 marijuana plants at any given time. On the other hand, recreational marijuana users will not be allowed to plant marijuana in their homes. Doing so will attract a civil penalty fine of $200.
Who is Allowed to Grow Cannabis in Illinois
If you are registered under the compassionate use of medical cannabis program, and are within the age limit set by the law, you are legible to grow marijuana. You also need to be a resident of this state to be allowed to grow weed at home. According to this law, a resident is “A person who is domiciled in the state for 30 days.”
If you grow marijuana, you have to tend for the plants. You can have an agent do this for you for a short duration when you are away. That said, the plants should not be accessed or used by other unauthorized people.
How to Grow Cannabis at Home
According to the law, marijuana plants will have to be grown in an enclosed and locked-up place. This will ensure that the plants cannot be accessed by unauthorized persons. It will be illegal to grow the plants in a place where the public can easily access.
Additionally, anyone who is registered to grow the cannabis plant is prohibited from giving the plant or any cannabis infused product to neighbors, friends, or any other person for that matter. Doing this will not only attract a penalty, but will also lead to revocation of the home growing right.
Where to Get Marijuana Seeds?
Cannabis Use and Possession by People Under Age 21
According to the new law, possession of cannabis by anyone below the age of 21 will be a criminal offense. Punishment for such offenses will depend on the circumstances at hand, and may include:
- Revocation of driving license if the person is driving a vehicle at the time they committed the offense
- Fine of not less than $500 if a parent or guardian allows anyone below the age limit to use marijuana
- Jail term if there are other crimes that have been committed while under the influence of marijuana
While you will be required to produce identification documents to verify your age when buying marijuana products, your personal information will be protected for privacy purposes. The sellers will not be required to record your personal information. If they do, they will need to first get your consent.
Once this bill becomes law, those who want to take marijuana for recreational or medical purposes will have an easier time getting the marijuana products they need. They will also get value for their money because all business transactions will be done in accordance with the law.
However, those who are below the age of 21 must keep off from using or possessing marijuana and any of its associated products because this can land them in trouble with law enforcement officers.
Cannabis And Hemp Industry Insurance Insurance coverage is a necessity for businesses in every industry, cannabis and hemp related ones are certainly not the exception. But of course, insurance in the cannabis industry comes with its twist and many complications, as...
Montana Cannabis News | Montana Cannabis Legalization Montana is getting ready to vote on recreational cannabis legalization this November! With two initiatives on the ballot - initiatives CI-118 and I-190 - Montana is one of the five states, alongside Arizona,...
Thomas Howard has been in business for years and can help yours navigate towards more profitable waters.
Thomas Howard was on the ball and got things done. Easy to work with, communicates very well, and I would recommend him anytime.
Vermont just joined the states that regulate the adult-use of cannabis with the passing of new marijuana laws. Although the possession and use of recreational marijuana was legalized in 2018, the lawmakers at the moment failed to pass any framework that regulated the...
How to open a cannabis dispensary in Michigan – a question that’s on every cannabis entrepreneur’s mind. The industry is getting a lot of attention for its impressive growth in such a short amount of time. This one year old industry has annual cannabis-related sales...
How To Get Your Cannabis License in Michigan Cannabis licenses in every state of the United States tend to be a tricky situation, Michigan state is not the exception. But with an industry growing as fast as the medical and recreational cannabis industry in this...
Need A Cannabis Attorney For Your Business?
Our cannabis business attorneys are also business owners. We can help you structure your business or help protect it from overly burdensome regulations.
Phone: (309) 740-4033 || Email: firstname.lastname@example.org